Big Thank You from Gulf War Vet to all other Vets

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ Red Raiders Message Board ]

Posted by Steve Howard on November 26, 2000 at 20:17:03:

I visited the Veterans Memorial Museum at Branson Missourri this weekend. I looked at the names on a plaque that could be read from across the room of all the service men/women who did not come home from the Gulf war. I found the name of the one acquaintance of mine who did not come home, and I remembered his face, and his voice. Still, this conflict (of which I am a veteran) had the names of its fallen on one poster sized board.

I looked with interest at the list of names of those who did not return from Vietnam, and took particular interest in Korea (My wife was born in Korea). Then I returned to the room where all the names were listed of the 460,000+ who never returned from WW II. I found those who share my family name - none of them were directly related. Then I found those with my mother's family name, and found the name of my mother's uncle who fell in Iwo Jima. It was overwhelming to me. The names filled three walls of a very large room.

Every name on every wall of every room represented a precious life given in service. For every name there, there was/is a family who mourned. Every name there had a buddy who somehow had to cope with the loss, and press on, not knowing if he/she would be next. And every service man/woman who went received wounds, some fatal, some visible, and some not visible, but all very real.